Society for Vascular Ultrasound Awards and Fellow Elevations at 2014 Annual Conference at Disney’s Contemporary Resort

LIGHTNING RELEASES: LANHAM, MD (8/26/2014) – During its successful and highly engaging 2014 Annual Conference, August 6-9, in Lake Buena Vista at the Disney Contemporary Resort, the Society for Vascular Ultrasound (SVU) elevated three members to Fellow. In addition, SVU presented several awards to designate fine service to the organization and to the vascular ultrasound profession. Other awards recognized strong presentations given at the Annual Conference.


The Fellows Subcommittee, chaired by Vice President JP Hughes, made the recommendation to elevate Kelly Byrnes, Patrick DeMuth and Jeanne Melendez to SVU Fellow. The SVU Board concurred with the decision and Ms. Byrnes, BS, RVT, FSVU, Mr. DeMuth, BS, RVT, FSVU and Ms. Melendez, RVT, RPhS, FSVU were announced as the newest SVU Fellows at the 2014 SVU Annual Conference.  

Ms. Byrnes serves as Technical Manager of the Non-Invasive Vascular Lab at Norton Hospital in Louisville, KY. Ms. Byrnes’ service to SVU includes currently serving on the SVU Board of Directors and serving as the Awards Committee Chair.

Mr. DeMuth serves as Technical Director/Practice Manager for Vanguard Vascular and Vein in Rowlett, TX. Mr. DeMuth’s service to SVU includes currently serving on the SVU Board of Directors and serving as the Chair of the Media Development Committee, producing SVU’s popular webinar services.

Ms. Melendez is President and Co-founder of Quality Vascular Imaging, Inc. in Venice, FL. Ms. Melendez’s service to SVU includes past service on the SVU Board of Directors and serving on the Awards Committee.


Leadership Award: Recipient was Debbie Pirt, AS, RVT, FSVU for her dedication, hard work, commitment, and notable leadership to the SVU as a board member, executive committee member and President.

Distinguished Service Awards: Recipients were Franklin West, BSN, RB, RVT, RVS, FSVU, Melissa Vickery, LPN, RVT, FSVU and Anne Jones, RN, BSN, RDMS, RVT, FSVU. Franklin has been representing SVU at the RUC meeting, supporting volunteer efforts and serving as a valuable resource for the Advocacy committee. Melissa has guided the strategic plan and operational directives for SVU for the past few years. Through Melissa’s excellent communication skills, these plans were executed smoothly. Anne has provided countless hours of volunteer service to SVU and Advocacy on projects including the CARE Bill, Scope of Practice and work with the Department of Labor.

Certificates of Appreciation: Recipients were Marge Hutchisson, RVT, RDCS, Jeanette Flannery RVT, RDMS, FSVU and Judy Fried, RN, RVT, FSVU. Marge works for IAC to improve quality vascular testing and presented during the pre-conference IAC Accreditation Workshop. Jeanette has devoted countless hours to SVU, contributing to the success of the Technology Theatre, the program and the annual conference. Jeanette’s energy and enthusiasm for SVU and its contributions to our profession is reflected in all of her actions. Judy dedicated a great deal of time and energy into planning the 2014 Annual Conference. This award was sponsored by the ONKIVT & KVS SVU Chapters.


Professional Achievement Awards: Recipients were Sandra Katanick, RN, RVT, FSVU, CAE, and Gail Size, BS, RVS, RVT, FSVU.   Sandra has an unflagging devotion to improving vascular practice in the United States and continues to educate the vascular community on quality standards and implementation. Gail has lectured, authored numerous publications, conducted workshops and participated in presentations throughout the United States and Europe.


The D.E. Strandness, MD, Scientific Award for Excellence in Vascular Research was presented to Brian Sapp, RVT, RPhS for his paper on “Patterns and Distribution of Deep Vein Thrombus of the Lower Extremity.” This annual award, sponsored this year by Parks Medical Electronics, is in honor of the “Father of Noninvasive Diagnosis”, D.E. Strandness, MD, who died in 2002.


Nichole Doornbos, BAS, RVT received the Excellence in Oral Clinical Presentation Award for her scientific paper on “Subclavian Venous Hemodynamic Variations with Postural Changes in a Normal Subject Population.” This award was sponsored by Navix Diagnostix, Inc.


The recipient of the Member First-Time Presenter Award is Christina O’May, RVT, RDMS for her paper on “Precise Identification of Spontaneous Tibial Artery Bleeds with Duplex Ultrasound.” This award was sponsored by the ONKIVT & KVS SVU Chapters.


Jenna Ruppert, RVT received the Excellence in Clinical Case Study Poster Presentation Award for her poster on “Unusual Characteristics of a Traumatic Neck Arteriovenous Fistula.” This award was sponsored by DataStar Systems, Inc.


Hannah Collett received the Student Poster Presentation Award for her poster on “Dissection of the Right Brachiocephalic Artery Extending into the Mid Right Common Carotid Artery.” This award was sponsored by the North Jersey Vascular Association.


Paul Bishop, MSEE, RVT received the Alex Chao, M.D. – Young Investigator’s Award for his paper on “Leading Edge Detection of Stents to Improve 3D Ultrasound Reconstruction.” This award was sponsored by Philips Healthcare.


Paula Walsh, MM, RDMS, RVT received the Excellence in an Oral Case Study Presentation Award for her paper on “Anterior Tibial Artery Entrapment.”


Melissa Warren received the Student Oral Presenter Award for her paper on “Utility of Arterial Duplex Imaging for Characterizing Complications Arising from a Maldeployed Endovascular Stent.”


Julie Siew Tin Low, BSc, RVT received the Excellence in Scientific Poster Presentation Award for her poster on “Characteristics of Forearm Arteries in Local Asian Population Undergoing Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery.” This award was sponsored by North Jersey Vascular Association.


The recipients of the Affiliated Chapter of the Year Award certificate are Philadelphia Regional Vascular Student Chapter and Oregon Tech Vascular Association.

The recipient of the Outstanding Affiliated Chapter Individual Recognition Award is Nancy Williams, RT(R), RDMS, RVT from the East Georgia Society for Vascular Ultrasound.

SVU encourages sonographers and vascular technologists to join us at the 2015 SVU Annual Conference, July 15-18, 2015, at the Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. For more information on SVU and its educational meetings, see

# # #

Founded in 1977, the Society for Vascular Ultrasound (SVU) is the only professional organization completely dedicated to the advancement of non-invasive vascular technology used in the diagnosis and treatment of vascular disease. SVU is comprised of more than 5,600 vascular technologists, physicians, and other allied health professionals. SVU offers vascular ultrasound educational programs, webinars, publications, networking opportunities, and legislative/regulatory advocacy representation. SVU publishes the Journal for Vascular Ultrasound; a unique and well-respected quarterly scientific journal dedicated to vascular ultrasound, and e-Spectrum, a monthly electronic newsletter. Visit SVU at

# # #

Contact: SVU Executive Director, Thomas L. Stefaniak, MBA, CAE at [email protected]Society for Vascular Ultrasound
4601 Presidents Drive, Suite 260
Lanham, MD 20706-4831
tel: 301-459-7550 ext. 103
fax: 301-459-5651

This story was originally published by American Banking News ( and is the sole property of American Banking News. If you are reading this article on another website, that means this article was illegally copied and re-published to this website in violation of U.S. and International copyright law. You can view the original version of this story at

Get Analysts' Upgrades and Downgrades Daily - Enter your email address below to receive a concise daily summary of analysts' upgrades, downgrades and new coverage with's FREE daily email newsletter.